adventures in running

>The beginning …

>So …. tonight we discussed the program. They want us to run 4 days a week. I’ll do it, but that’s a lot!!

We had a baseline workout…. We ran half a mile to warm up, and then they timed us for a mile. I ran almost the entire mile and a half. I stopped to walk a few times, but ran most of the time! But …. my mile time was 14 minutes and 23 seconds. That’s really slow!!

I asked the coordinator where he’d put a runner who runs as fast as the walkers. (Ya know, the walkers at the back of the pack ….) He thought I may run too slow for the program. He suggested I go back to the advanced 5k training. Uh hello? I’m training for a 10k. I’ve set my mind to train for a 10k! I WILL COMPLETE THE 10K! He said to give it a shot, and if I need to go back to the No Boundaries (5k) class, I can do that when they start in February. I won’t be doing that.

So, the challenge is to run ….. and to push myself to run faster than I normally do!!

I am looking forward to this challenge!!! It’ll make completing the 10k so much more rewarding!

2 responses

  1. >Good luck to you in your training. No matter how much I hate running, I always feel so much better after I have had a good run. Just wish I had more time to do it now, it's a little harder to make time for yourself when you have a little one, ha! Looking forward to keeping up with your progress!

    January 26, 2011 at 12:39 am

  2. >Thanks Becky!! I bet it is difficult to make time for lots of things with a little one!

    January 27, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Leave a Reply

