adventures in running

>10k training day 2

>I was nervous about today. Tuesday they timed us during a mile run. I ran next to walkers most of the time …… So, time wise, I should be a walker. For more of that story, go to the previous post!

I am determined to be a runner, and to run/walk this training, so I went with the PW3 group tonight.

PW1 – Run the WHOLE time
PW2 – Run intervals (only walking a minute between running 6, 7, or 8 minutes) for the first 6 weeks, then RUN THE WHOLE TIME
PW3 – Run intervals the whole time (only walking one minute, start running at 6 minutes, at the end of training we’ll be running 12 minutes)
PW4 – Walkers

I was in the back the whole time, and the coach and everyone behind her had to circle around to get me, so I didn’t get too far behind, but I wasn’t the only one back there! I had a friend! We ARE slow, but we ARE running!!! I ran the entire time everyone else ran! We (the whole group) stopped during a run time for a water break and stopped during a run time to call the store to pick up an injured runner, but when everyone else was running, SO WAS I!!

How far did we go? 3 miles. THREE MILES!!! The 5ks are 3.1 … that was the goal for my last training. We went as far today in our training as our goal race for the last training session!! I believe THAT is an accomplishment!

I was ready to be done after 3 miles, but it was a wonderful run!!!

However, I will have two coaches ….. today’s coach was awesome! She told us the coach for Tuesdays runs fast …. so I’m a little worried about that, but only just a little. They’ll just have to circle around to get me!!

After running I went to my Thursday School. Then I came home and took a nice warm bath! I wish it had been hot, but it wasn’t! But it felt really good!!!

So, I’ll be running on Saturday and Sunday to get my other two runs in!

I CAN DO THIS!!! I WILL DO THIS!!!

Oohhhh, and these are my new shoes!

Leave a Reply

