adventures in running

>WIIIINDY run downtown!!

>Not really motivated to write about tonight’s run …

It has been windy all day today! When I went out at lunch time, it was super chilly!

I packed my back with options today! It’s Oklahoma, you neverk now what it’ll be like outside when it’s time to run! So, I had my capris and some long tights and a long sleeve shirt and a short sleeve shirt.

After work, I changed into my long sleeve shirt and long tights and headed downtown. Probably should have headed downtown and changed at the store … traffic probably wouldn’t have been any different, though!

When I got out to my car I thought it might be too warm for the tights ….. when I got to the store, I decided I’d change into my capris. And I’m glad I did. When we were standing still, it was a bit chilly, but when we were running, it wasn’t too bad.

It was awwwwful windy though!!!

We ran 12 and walked 1 except at stoplights where there were cars.

I focused a lot on my breathing today and didn’t ever get a pain in my side!

I feel bad when the fast people at the front have to circle around to get me because I go so slow …. I don’t mind so much when K, J, SB, or SG do it …. but when everyone has to do it, it kind of makes me sad. Now, I’d rather them circle around to get me than leave me behind …. I need to work on running faster. Anyone have any suggestions, besides the track on Tuesday nights? Something I can do at home?

My legs were a bit tight, but not bad enough to make me stop and walk!!!

I’m very proud of myself and my body for all that I have been able to accomplish. Who would have thought I’d be able to run 6.2 miles??? Now I’m looking forward to hitting 13.1!!!

It was a good run. I’m looking forward to being able to run faster at longer distances. I ran 2 miles that were awful slow …. close to 16 minute mile …. that is not fantastic! I was moving, but that isn’t a great pace!

3.16 miles in 43:40
Average pace 13:50
Mile 1 – 13:51
Mile 2 – 15:54
Mile 3 – 15:58
Mile 3.12 – 2:28 (but I thought I did 3.16 ???)

The time adds up to 48 minutes …. UGH!!! I’ve gone wrong somewhere with this app!! I usually pause it when we stop at the water stop and at stop lights …. I forgot to stop it twice tonight, but there shouldn’t be a time discrepancy between my minutes per mile and the complete time!

3 responses

  1. KB

    >Do NOT feel badly about people circling for even one instant!! That's kinda the whole point – nobody gets left behind???Running faster – Jeff told me to alternate bouts of fast running with slower recovery running. Don't know if it would work, but have you considered running with a NoBo group? Let me explain my thinking on that!! Now that you can run the longer distances reasonably comfortably, you could run with a pace group doing say 11 min/miles. The shorter intervals would let you do that, I think. Or we should decide on a continuing training plan for us post-Pathways/pre-half marathon!

    April 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm

  2. KB

    >And splurge on a Garmin. Really. 🙂

    April 4, 2011 at 10:24 pm

  3. >Running with a NoBo group doesn't sound like such a bad idea, because I CAN run longer distances. But, we also need to decide on a training plan for post-pathways/pre-half marathon! And I really can't afford a Garmin right now …. especially since I'm doing a half marathon at Disney World …. that's not going to be cheap!

    April 5, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

