adventures in running

9am run

When I let the dog out this morning, it didn’t feel as hot as it has been, so I thought I’d go for a run. Ended up leaving for my run just before 9. It didn’t feel so bad at first, but then it was hot, the sun was beating down on me, and there was no shade!

Wore the skirt KB made again today. Practiced with my phone in the pocket and it slid down. So the phone stayed at home. But, I did put a package of honey stingers in the pocket, with the opening at the top of the pocket. Easy access! Worked wonderfully! Not heavy enough to pull the skirt down.

Set out for a 4 mile run. But my head wouldn’t let me do it. I ran for several minutes at a time, but not as much as I would have liked. Everything worked well! No sore spots! My body felt good! But it was hot!!

The goal was to go out 2 miles and come back. But …. at mile 1.66 my head told me that was far enough. And I listened. After mile 2, my head told me I should walk the rest of the way. I did, but I wanted to see if I could walk a mile as fast as I ran/walked them. I walked faster my third mile than I ran/walked my 2nd. But I didn’t beat my first mile time. And I was out by myself. Mom’s out of town. I’m usually willing to go further when someone else is out with me.

Looking forward to cooler temperatures. Hoping we have a long fall!

3.31 miles in 54:37 | Mile 1 – 16:05, Mile 2 – 16:38, Mile 3 – 16:29 (walking), Mile 3-3.31 – 5:25 (walking)

One response

  1. ciaranaustin

    Nice post! If you’d like to check out my post on running, you can find it here:
    http://ciaranaustin.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/running-my-new-passion/
    Thanks.

    July 24, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Leave a Reply

