adventures in running

Ran with the walking group

Technically. In reality, I ran with the coach of the walking group. No one else showed up. I think there are only 2 or 3 in his group.

I signed up yesterday to do Pathways again. And couldn’t run with them at Kings Pointe yesterday or tomorrow, so I joined the downtown group today. I decided I’d go with the walking group because they were supposed to do a 15 minute/mile pace. And the slowest running group was supposed to do a 12:30 minute/mile pace. And run 7 and walk 1. And I just didn’t want to slow them down.

I was the only participant for the walking group today so I got personalized training from the coach!! And the slowest running group had a lot of people and they had to wait for the slow ones. I was definitely glad to not be holding anyone up. Well, anyone but the coach. And he didn’t complain.

The coach can do around a 12:30 minute mile. So he was going slow and I was pushing myself!

I ran for like the first 11 or 12 minutes. Then I’d walk a little, which was really more work because I’m used to walking at around a 17 minute/mile pace.

Humbling moment of the evening – being passed by the slowest running group and having them say “walkers right.” Meaning ME! And I was running when they said it.

Oh well. I went 3.11 miles today. And I ran a lot. And I know I can do this!

The question is …. do I stay on with the walking group? Or do I run with the slowest running group? We’ll see. If it’s just a few of us, I’ll probably just run with the walking group. No need to be bogged down by a bunch of people I don’t know. (=

One response

  1. who else

    Stay with the walkers. It’s about pace!! You want to have fun and not be stressed out about keeping up, and I think you’d enjoy yourself more in PW4!

    August 17, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Leave a Reply

