adventures in running

Hustle for Hunger 5k – 2011

WOOOHOOOO!!!! That about sums it up!

I think today was the first time I’ve signed up for a race ON race day. I usually sign up in advance.

I had some Jelly Belly Sport Beans in my running box, so I put several in my water bottle pocket. I shared some with Mom.

Last year, this race ate my lunch. I wasn’t ready for it last year. It was hot and hilly. And I believe I was the last one to cross the finish line. That’s the bad thing about small races!

This year, I hoped I would do better than last year. At least not be the last one to cross the finish line. And I feel like I did really well! I was close to the front as we crossed the start line, but I got passed quickly by almost everyone. I hoped to catch up to some of them. But I didn’t. There were some people behind me. A few passed me. There were at least 2 behind me the whole way. I caught up with the two people in front of me and passed them, leaving 4 people behind me. Those two were the last two to cross the finish line.

It was way hotter than I’d anticipated! But, I ran when I could, when my mind said I could. I walked when my mind said I needed to walk. BUT, I used what I’ve learned from the walking coaches to walk faster! They said if I was going to train with them, they were going to teach me how to walk so I could go faster on my walk intervals! AND I DID!!

Ate several of my sport beans at about mile 1. And didn’t think about them again.

Thanked all the volunteers along the course, just like I do with the cops who block the streets in Tulsa. All the volunteers were so encouraging and clapped as I came through. 

One water stop had music playing loud enough for us to hear and cute little Dixie cups with pink and brown circles! So cute! Made me smile!!

I really felt great the whole race. Never felt like I couldn’t run anymore. Nothing hurt. Nothing was stiff or sore. It was a really good run!!

I really appreciate all of you who cheered for me!!

And mom snapped a picture of me as I came up to the finish line.

Rockin’ my skirt! KB, I still need some matching ones! (=

3.13 in 46:52 | Mile 1 – 15:14 | Mile 2 – 15:17 | Mile 3 – 14:53

Finished at a pace of 9:04! SUPER SPEEDY ACROSS THE FINISH LINE!! (=

Came in 6/6 in my age group.

Leave a Reply

