adventures in running

4 Miles at KPV

Did not care to go run today. I didn’t feel like doing anything. I wanted to go home. Put comfy clothes on. And watch OSU beat the Arizona Wildcats. I didn’t care one bit about the football games when I was AT OSU. Came home every weekend to get AWAY from the crazy football business …. It was a few years ago when the OSU vs. MIZZOU game was on. I started watching it and the game was SOOOO INTENSE I couldn’t change the channel. I’ve been hooked ever since. I still don’t care to go to an actual football game. It might be a neat experience, like a trail run, but not ideal.

Anyway … I didn’t want to run. But, I changed and went to Fleet Feet. Lucky for me, I’m part of the walking group. Sooooo ….. I didn’t have to run. And I didn’t. Until the very end. When we go as fast as we can back to the place where we stretch. Got down to 11:08/min/mile. Not great, but for not wanting to run, it wasn’t bad, either.

Soooo ….. this group just doesn’t compare to my last Pathways group. My last group just clicked really well. We had a good time together. This group drives me nuts. There are two people that are part of the half marathon training program, but they’re walking with the Pathways group. They can walk a 12 minute mile. They aren’t walking that fast during our training, but they are walking faster than myself and the other lady in the walking group. They irritate me because this organized run is for Pathways. Not the half marathon trainers. I think they’re pretty lucky to be able to go with us. If you remember, the lack of organized weekday runs is why I am not doing the half marathon training now. Soooo …… when they get snippy because we’re walking so slow, I don’t believe my response will be polite. /= Also ….. there’s a lady who talks and hums and just makes noise. I wonder if she realizes how much faster she could be going if she wasn’t using her energy for making noises! I don’t understand people like that. SOME PEOPLE LIKE QUIET!

Left ankle is hurting. Has been hurting all day.

Went 4.17 in 1:08 | Mile 1 – 16:36 | Mile 2 – 16:13 | Mile 3 – 16:17 | Mile 4 – 16:14

2 responses

  1. C'est moi

    WHO likes quiet? We sure weren’t quiet before when we’d run! LOL Don’t worry about the people who aren’t in Pathways. Do YOUR thing and let them sort themselves out. If you’re not happy with it, talk to the coach and explain your side.

    It’s crazy how much the group dynamics can affect your run, isn’t it??

    September 9, 2011 at 9:34 am

    • But we TALKED we didn’t just made noise! And it is amazing how much the group dynamics can affect the run. I just ran in my own world. Listened to my music. If our group had been running I wouldn’t have even taken my ipod with me. I don’t care to ruffle feathers. I’ll do my thing. The coach isn’t leaving us behind. It’s not a problem. It’s just a bit irritating.

      September 9, 2011 at 11:45 am

Leave a Reply

