adventures in running

6 weeks left to train!! 3 miles in the cold and dark

Whose idea was it to do a half marathon in January? It’s possible we didn’t truly think about how we’d have to train for it!

I haven’t run since the Tulsa Run. Which was October 29. An entire month without running. Because it’s been cold. And busy. But no more excuses now!

We have 6 weeks. 6 WEEKS until the Walt Disney World Half Marathon!!!! 12 miles on Christmas Eve. 10 miles on New Year’s Eve. Whose idea was this???

Mom and I met at Rayola Park in Owasso to go 3 miles. I didn’t set my intervals, so I just ran when I could and walked when I wanted.

We met at 5:30. At lunch time, I called Mom and asked her if she could bring a tech t-shirt for me, I was worried I’d be too warm. (Because it was warm at lunch time.) She laughed and said it wouldn’t be warm at 5:3o. Well hello! It certainly wasn’t! The sun had gone down and it was dark and chilly.

I wore my compression pants and a KB skirt over them! And my long sleeve Tulsa Run tech shirt. Like usual, I wore one of my regular bras with a sports bra over it. I’ve found that that gives me the best support, it’s comfortable, and it doesn’t look like I have a uni-boob. But I forgot the ribbon I use to keep my bra straps from falling down. So I was messing with them the whole time. And I think next time, I’ll wear a compression shirt as well. My sides were itchy. I think it’s because my skin was cold.

Also, Mom and I both wore flashy bracelets she got at the Williams Route 66 Marathon Expo! They’re really kind of fun!!

Rayola Park/YMCA has a few paved trails that lead into neighborhoods that have street lights. It wasn’t a bad place to run!

I did try to run a little faster than normal to keep up with Mom. I didn’t want to be too far from her, just in case someone sneaked up behind me. But when she walked, so did I.

No pains. Breathing was good, feet felt good, body felt good. It really felt good to be running again!! My knees feel a little sore now.

And I fell asleep during the Biggest Loser! It’s DVRed so don’t tell me what happened.

3.16 miles in 49:28 | Mile 1 – 15:37 | Mile 2 – 15:54 | Mile 3 – 15:30

One response

  1. Anne

    Hi! I found for your blog looking for photos from the Disney Half. Congratulations on finishing! I read through some of your other posts and this one in particular stuck out because I, too, have faced major issues with finding a comfortable bra for running. Please do yourself a favor and try the Wirefree No-Bounce Camisole bra by Glamirose Sport. It’s available from a few different online retailers. I still layer with a regular sports bra over it, but it’s better than anything I’ve tried before. It has hooks like a regular bra, but no underwire. There’s no uniboob and the straps stay put, plus the camisole part is extra coverage so nothing escapes. I’ve been telling all of my fuller-figured friends to buy one to try it out. Please, as one fuller-busted girl to another, try it. You won’t regret it.

    April 19, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

