adventures in running

93*, high humidity, and upping my run intervals from 1 to 2 minutes?

No problem. Seriously. I felt great. But I’m not sure I could have gone much farther at the pace we were going!

I’m super proud of myself. I was able to keep up with my coach! That’s always my goal.

Have you run with a group? Have you had to circle back for people? I love that we do this because I have been the one in the back MANY TIMES! But ….. what’s a bit irritating is having to pass people every time we run. For some reason, they think they need to be in front of me. Or at the front of the group. But they can’t run there for long. So I have to pass them. Again and again. I KNOW I’ve mentioned this before. And my opinion on this (because you all know I have an opinion) is, find your spot in the group. Find the people you can run behind without wanting to run them over and run behind them. And stay there. For real. Oh well. I”ll just have to pass people again and again. And lose my attitude about it. And be happy that I’m moving! And able to pass people!

So ….. I did awesome (not meaning to brag) during the run. Then we start stretching. And talking. Coach LS makes us go around and answer a question every day. Today’s question was what’s your “go-to” healthy snack and what’s the one thing that can derail your healthy eating? For me it was a slice of 100% whole wheat toast with pecan butter for my healthy option and Krispy Kreme donuts for my favorite unhealthy snack. I CANNOT leave Krispy Kreme donuts in the box. If there are donuts, I must eat them!! So, back to stretching …. we were almost done stretching and my vision started to get blurry. I took a drink of water and sat down. That helped! Then sitting in my car with the a/c on full blast also helped. I was super worried about passing out and embarrassing myself, but I didn’t! I may have pushed myself too hard. I might should have eaten a small snack before we ran. I’ll try not to let that happen again! It was a super freaky feeling!!

I went 2.24 miles in 33:50 | average pace – 15:07 | Mile 1 – 14:33 | Mile 2 – 14:39 | Mile 2-2.24 – 4:37 (19:23 pace)

2 responses

  1. C'est moi

    You might have should have told one of us that you were feeling like that!! No shame in it, we’ve all been there. Pushed hard in that nastiness and it hits you. NEXT TIME SAY SOMETHING, even just quietly on the side, so that we can follow up with you in a few minutes.
    As far as the rest goes…. let’s just say I AGREE!

    May 30, 2012 at 7:15 am

    • What’s the fun of telling someone? I didn’t want to interrupt our group time when I was feeling really bad. Didn’t want to draw attention to myself! By the time we were done, I was feeling okay. But I promise if I feel like that again, I’ll tell someone. Maybe.

      May 31, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Leave a Reply

