adventures in running

Making new running friends

Running itself really isn’t always fun. It can be. If the weather is perfect. If your body is working properly. If you don’t have any pains. If you’re running with friends. That is the key. Running with friends changes everything. It can make a bad run bearable. It can change your attitude.

Making those friends is difficult, though. Tonight’s run was a perfect example of that. Before the run, we sat waiting for 6:00. I sat in the room alone. There were all kinds of conversations going on. But I sat, without talking to anyone. Really, that’s okay with me for the most part. I’m good with myself. But sometimes it’s nice to have people to talk to.

When we were running, I was really running alone in our group. And that’s okay. I’ve learned to run on my own. I’ve gotten good at it. Then my coach gave us an assignment. We were supposed to find someone we don’t know and get to know a few things about them. Later, when we were stretching, we’d have to share that information with the group.

I happened to be walking next to someone when she gave us our assignments, so we introduced ourselves and got to know each other a little. It’s amazing how much different the run was once I’d actually talked to someone.

And running people are friendly. But talking to them when you don’t know them can be pretty difficult. Anyway, if you run alone, make friends! It can change your running attitude!

I went 2.17 miles in 33:59 | Average pace – 15:39 | Mile 1 – 15:20 | Mile 2 – 15:44 | Mile 2-2.17 – 2:55 (pace -17:04)

Leave a Reply

