adventures in running

Awful run

For real. The only good thing about this run is that I did it.

There were obstacles to overcome, though.

  • Sunday, Mom and I stopped at a neighbor’s house to buy some home-grown tomatoes. And I fell in their yard. I’d like to say I fell in a hole but I just don’t believe that’s the truth. I think my left ankle just briefly gave up on me. It was sore and swollen. May have still been a bit sore and swollen today, but not enough to slow me down. And really didn’t hurt while running.
  • I had 3 fillings from my childhood re-done at 4pm and we meet to run at 6pm. I was still numb. I wasn’t completely back to normal until just after we finished running.
  • It was really hot outside!

It may have been a combination of all 3. It may have been all mental, but I just didn’t do well on tonight’s run.

I started in the back so that I wasn’t tempted to keep up with Coach N. I did eventually catch up to him. And then I couldn’t run anymore. LOL Maybe that was my problem.

The intervals were run 4, walk 2, 6 times. I ran the first 2 intervals just fine. Pretty sure I walked the 2nd half of the 3rd, 4th, and 5th, and walked the whole 6th interval.

******

This past Saturday, I only went 2.13 miles. Mom and I thought we’d do 8 this weekend but we had so much going on we didn’t really have time for 8. And we didn’t get up early enough for it. So we went to the track at Oologah Public Schools. The track is good and bad. Good – it’s a little cushy so it’s easier on your feet, you never get too far from the car. Bad – there was very little shade, you can stop at each lap!!! Mom got 4 in. I gave up after 2.

Then we went to An Affair of the Heart and I turned my Garmin on then put it in my sack pack. I don’t believe my Garmin’s completely accurate, it says we went 9 miles in 2 hours and 44 minutes. While walking around in a crowded fair type atmosphere. I doubt we went 9 miles and I doubt we did it in 2 hours and 44 minutes.

Leave a Reply

