adventures in running

Last week of NoBo in Owasso, this session anyway

And I couldn’t be more relieved. I’m not looking forward to the goal race on Saturday. My goal when I started was to run the 5k in under 40 minutes. Most people do this with very little effort. I have done quite a few 5ks and have yet to be under 40 minutes. I’m slow. And for the most part, I’m okay with that. But I’ve really struggled these last few weeks.

I love most of the people I run with. I love the camaraderie. We have a good time together. But I haven’t enjoyed the runs. And I know that not all runs are created equal. (= I know that there are so many factors that determine a run. But I really do feel like after we do the Disneyland half marathon in September that I’ll be done running. I’d be done after the 5k on Saturday if we hadn’t already paid for the Disneyland half. .

I hope this feeling changes. But right now, I’m ready to quit. And that’s a tough place to be because I’ve got 6 more weeks of training.

The last few weeks, probably since we moved up from running 3 minutes at a time to running 4 minutes at a time, I’ve had a hard time. If you’ve kept up with my blog, the second time I did No Boundaries in 2010 I started out with the P2 group. And I did well until we started running longer. And then it was just too fast for me. So I went back to P3 and did fine. And so my guess is I’m pushing too hard in the beginning and I run out of steam for the end. And in 2010, I was okay with that. The advantage I’ve had the last few weeks is that P2 and P3 have run together so I didn’t have to worry too much about slowing my group down.

I really would like to go faster, but at this point, I’d like to be able to do all my intervals.

The heat has been a huge factor. I’m proud of myself for competing this session. And I’m still hoping to be under 40 minutes on Saturday. We’ll see how that goes.

I went 2.59 miles in 41:26 | Average pace 15:59 | Mile 1 – 14:27 | Mile 2 – 16:32 | Mile 2-2.59 – 10:27 (17:40 pace)

One response

  1. C'est moi

    Stop beating yourself up. EVERYONE is struggling with the heat (ok, maybe not N!) right now!! It’s hard to run when you feel like you are sucking down hot air – nevermind the whole drenched in sweat!!

    Sub 40 is a 12:39 avg pace. What intervals do you think you would be comfortable running Saturday? I’m sure one of us would be happy to pace you! I think you can do it – if not this weekend, SOON.

    Cut yourself some slack!! And sign up for the next session. 😛

    July 25, 2012 at 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

